The AU Commission wishes to call for the nominations of candidates for the Top AU leadership positions to be elected and appointed during the Executive Council session in January/February 2021.

That the new structure of the AU Commission shall be composed of

eight (8) members as follows: Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson and six  (6)


That the portfolios of the Commissioners shall be as follows:

  1. Agriculture, Rural Development, Blue Economy and Sustainable Environment;
  2. Economic Development, Trade, Industry and Mining;
  3. Education, Science, Technology and Innovation;
  4. Infrastructure and Energy;
  5. Political Affairs, Peace & Security;
  6. Health, Humanitarian Affairs and Social Development.

The AU assembly established a Panel of Eminent Africans, who developed the job profiles and competency requirements for the positions of Commissioners will also prepare the shortlist for each position based on the approved criteria.